Friday, October 27, 2017

21st Century School Libraries for 2017-2020 Honored

This year nine school libraries received the 21st Century School Library Award. Librarians and administrators were honored at the annual Systems Change Conference on October 20 in Rapid City.

21st century school library awards the place the program the professional. Award ceremony Friday October 20, 2017. Systems Change Conference, Rapid City.

The 21st Century School Library Award recognizes school libraries as Effective, Enhanced or Exemplary, based on performance in three areas: place, which refers to the learning environment (both physical and online), programming, and professional.

Applicants conduct a self-assessment and provide evidence of their ability to meet South Dakota's guidelines for school libraries. Award status is valid for a three-year period.

Enhanced Award recipients:

  • Rapid Valley Elementary Library, Rapid City;
    Librarian Jennifer Backhaus, Administrator Cher Daniel
  • Robert Frost Elementary Library, Sioux Falls;
    Librarian Korey Erickson, Administrator Colleen Werner

Exemplary Award recipients:

  • Douglas High School Library, Box Elder;
    Librarian Kimberly Darata, Administrator Bud Gusso
  • Douglas Middle School Library, Box Elder;
    Librarian Melissa Hubbell, Administrator Dan Baldwin
  • Harrisburg South Middle School Library, Harrisburg;
    Librarian Kristi Jones, Administrator Darren Ellwein
  • Horizon Elementary School, Harrisburg;
    Librarian Leslee Reiland, Administrator Lisa Garrett
  • Madison Central School Libraries, Madison;
    Librarian Joanne Kallhoff, Administrators Cotton Koch, Adam Shaw and Janel Guse
  • West Central High/Middle School Library, Hartford;
    School Librarian DaNann Kistler, Administrator Melinda Jensen
  • West Middle School Library, Rapid City;
    Librarian Shelley Rath, Administrator Dan Conrad

Detailed information on the 21st Century School Library Award is available on the South Dakota State Library's website at