Tuesday, June 5, 2018

State Library recognizes 21st Century School Libraries

Fifteen school libraries have received the 21st Century School Library Award for 2018. The 21st Century School Library Award recognizes school libraries as Effective, Enhanced or Exemplary, based on performance in three areas: place, which refers to the learning environment (both physical and online), programming and the professional.

Applicants conduct a self-assessment and provide evidence of their ability to meet South Dakota's guidelines for school libraries. Award status is valid for a three-year period.

Representatives of the selected libraries will be honored at the annual Systems Change Conference Oct. 19 in Sioux Falls.


Brookings High School Library, BrookingsExemplaryJean KirschenmanDr. Paul vonFischer
Explorer Elementary Library, HarrisburgEnhancedAmy DeNommeDoug Eppard
Journey Elementary Library, HarrisburgExemplaryElizabeth WellsRob Sylliassen
Huron High SchoolEffectiveRachel KaryMike Radke
T.F. Riggs High School Library, PierreEnhancedPam C. KringelKevin Mutchelknaus
Knollwood Heights Elementary, Rapid CityEffectiveTracy BensonShannon Schaefers
Discovery Elementary Library, Sioux FallsExemplarySharlene LienLois Running
Harvey Dunn Elementary, Sioux FallsEffectiveAmy HeinertPatti Pannell
Lincoln High School Library, Sioux FallsExemplaryMary PetersRobert Grimm
Memorial Middle School Library, Sioux FallsExemplaryLaura AllardNancy Hagen
Oscar Howe Elementary Library, Sioux FallsExemplaryEmily BlackwelderLarry Larsen
Patrick Henry Middle School Library, Sioux FallsEnhancedWendy NelsonKim Sharping
Roosevelt High School Library, Sioux FallsExemplaryJeanne ConnerTim Hazlett
Washington High School Library, Sioux FallsExemplaryKerri SmithDan Conrad
Spearfish High School Library, SpearfishExemplaryEmily BenvengaSteve Morford

Find more information on the State Library's 21st Century School Library Award webpage.